My "Disciplined Daytrader" story

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by NY_HOOD, May 18, 2011.

1. NY_HOOD

NY_HOOD

ok..i was a disciplined day trader.
    story 1 --- i'm watching AAPL and see that it established a pattern. i waited patiently until it formed an obvious pattern. i notice it formed a channel of solid support and resistance. i will buy the bottom of the channel and sell near the top..i buy the bottom with a stop and then bamm!!! it drops under the channel so i stop my self out--DISCIPLINE. but then it goes right back into the channel so i again buy at the bottom; just another head fake(i love that term). its starts moving up and then again it falls under the channel and DISCIPLINE stops me out. Damn, back into the channel but this time it moves up..i make money but damn, i am still down due to my disciplined stop losses. i even widened my stop but to no avail..those damn candlestick tails!
    story 2--i am in a good stock as it formed a nice consolidation pattern,i think its about to make a sharp move higher but i have in a tight stop in case it moves the other way..DISCIPLINE...WTF ! the volume has stopped,it ai'nt moving.. whats going on. shit, the stock is halted..someone leaked out earnings and it looks like its bad. i have 1200 shares of a $65 stock and its scheduled to re open in a half hour. ok,they are bidding at 53, down 12 points. i am disciplined,how could this happen???