Mutual funds that beat the market

Discussion in 'Economics' started by AshanD, Oct 1, 2007.

1. AshanD

AshanD

...consistently. I keep hearing that the market beats around 90% of the funds so I am wondering if that last 10% is a bunch of one year wonders or not.

Do long term performers exist? I'm talking about 10-20 year track records where the fund outperformed the market consistently (doesn't have to be every year though)

2. The problem with your request is that mutual funds have extremely large and crafty marketing departments that are very good at manipulating the numbers. While I was a broker/advisor, I was amazed at what passed NASD approval.

Some 'tricks of the trade':
    > Have a bad fund? Just get rid of it. Have it gobbled up by another fund and make that bad history just disappear.

> Have a great fund? Highlight the years where the fund did well and make sure those numbers are everywhere.

> Have a fund that had ONE great year? No problem either - show the 'cumulative' return assuming you owned the entire year that the fund did well. And if need be, you can always merge this fund with another, but still keep the returns when the fund was good.

> Always make sure the numbers you are looking at are net/net - net of ALL possible fees, including the 'hidden' fees such as trading fees, 12b-1 fees, add'l compensation arrangements with brokerage firms to sell your stuff, etc.

In the end, I realized by the time I left the brokerage firm that the overwhelming majority of people would do much better in ETF's.

I know that doesn't directly answer your question, but I think it does. While there are some gems out there, many are closed and/or have high minimums. And many are in fact one hit wonders.

3. Mutual funds "are" the market. So they can't beat themselves. Now factor in transaction costs like commissions, management fees, and operating costs, and instantly most funds perform less than the market.