MT4 time change - Build 418

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Wallace, Apr 1, 2012.

  1. the MT servers have been changed and have a one hour earlier start

    their Open is now 2pm PST - 5pm EST and presumably the Close will also be one
    hour earlier at 2pm PST - 5pm EST, and 1pm PST - 4pm EST on the Friday Close —
    check and verify

    the only exception to the above is Oanda's MT4 which uses EST, for instance the first
    Hourly bar was 2pm EST - 11am PST for today Sun April 1/12 - they also use current
    dates and the dates don't change till midnight EST each day

    FXCM announced the time change via email, it's possible some brokers may not be
    aware of the change, think they control allowing updates ?? but it may be wise to ask
    if they are staffed for the new times
  2. Jason Rogers

    Jason Rogers ET Sponsor

    Hi Wallace,

    There seems to be some confusion here, so I wanted to clarify.

    FXCM’s MT4 servers use Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) as their time zone. Currently that’s 4 hours ahead Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) in New York. If you are looking at a daily bar chart or candlestick chart, each daily bar will begin and end at midnight 00:00 GMT on the MT4 platform.

    FXCM’s trading desk is open 24 hours a day from Sunday 9pm GMT (5pm EDT) to Friday, 9pm GMT (5pm EDT). We offer live customer support 24 hours a day, even when the trading desk is closed for the weekend.