MRCI last few years results

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by TraDaToR, Oct 14, 2009.

1. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello,

As an aspiring spread trader, I bought the "encyclopedia of commodity and financial spreads" from MRCI team and an other one from Courtney Smith. Both were good and I would like to thank JLaw for his advice because It greatly helped me understand the mechanics of spreads.

However, the book from MRCI is from 2005 and I had the idea to do a "walk forward" test of their agricultural and meats spreads for 2006-2007-2008... The results were so bad that I only tested spreads beginning in Jan, Feb, Mar and Apr.It was enough...Something like 70% of losers and losers outstandingly bigger than winners...

I know this book wasn't meant to be a trading system per se and that spreads must be chosen depending on current conditions, crops, demand ... but I still expected the list of spreads from the book to be just slightly positive as a whole...

What happened in the past few years? Is it seasonality that didn't work or just MRCI's spreads?

Thanks.

2. the meat spreads should have been fairly reliable...but 2008 happened to the grains lol :D

3. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

It's not only 2008 and meats were bad as well( I hope I didn't make any error/inverting while copying them from the book). I forgot to say I just tested spreads that had more than 90% profitable years in the book...

Let's take 2 of them :- Buy Jun Hogs/Sell Oct Hogs from 02/17 to 03/10
    - Buy April Live cattle/Sell Mar Feeders from 01/10 to 03/15

Both BIG losers... Watching my sheet, I almost ha ve only losers for meats ( but it's only spreads 'til april I know )

4. hmm...it may be I was fading a lot of MRCI's stuff then! lol...I just remember having my best times in meats over that time period. IMO though, as far as meats go, the fall months are the best time to trade them...late August through December.