Mr J's Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Mr J, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Mr J

Mr J

Yet another Journal. I'm pretty new to trading and I'll be using this thread to get my strategy and thoughts out there in the open. This will allow me to analyse my actions with complete honesty, and maybe others will post thoughts or advice.

For now I'm keeping my trading strategy simple and just look to trade with the trend. It's influenced by my sportsbetting experience, early thoughts on trading as well as anek's and jjrvat's threads (as those strategies seemed similar to my own thoughts, and "clicked" with me).

I've been a little frustrated over the last few days as I've lost quite a bit, and completely due to errors. One was as simple accidently selling instead of buying, while others were from not analysing properly or deviating from the strategy. Errors are a part of trading, but I've been making far too many.

The first change I made today was to increase the timeframe (from 30 ticks for the ES to 100 ticks). I felt I got faked out a little easily so I'm slowing things down.

I'll be posting a daily summary & chart, and hope fully get some feedback on where I can improve, whether I'm on the right track and if I just don't get it.

2. Mr J

Mr J

Nothing much today. Below is a 3000 volume bars for the ES, and looking back it doesn't seem to have been a day that would suit my trading style, and I didn't really try to trade it.

I took a short at the red vertical line at 778.25 and was stopped out 779.5 (swing high wicked to 779.25). Looking back it seems okay, I was using a tick chart at that time (to smoothen out my data early on). The short would have been based off the trend from pre-market.

I took a long at the green vertical line at 780 and was stopped out at 779.25 (stop was moved up slightly). Too early, no trend yet and I don't think I should have taken it.

I would probably would have taken a short at the orange vertical line and stopped out at B/E.