Moving to Dubai

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Wayne State, May 2, 2008.

1. Dear Readers.

I’m 23 years old and I’m in my last year of university. I will be graduating with a B.A in Finance with a 4.0. I will have around $30,000 saved up and my fiancé will have her CMA designation to be an accountant. We are interested in moving to Dubai in a year, I would like to know if anyone has been there or has any advice of the job scene there. All infomation is greatly appreciated.

2. ggoyal

ggoyal

its a good place.

not

3. Cutten

Cutten

I've been there. As an American you will probably feel slightly at home compared to most of the middle east. It's a very car dominated city with lots of new skyscrapers, hotels etc - kind of like Vegas without the gambling. The expat lifestyle is moderately appealing - excellent selection of restaurants, hotels, some decent clubs, you can go 4x4 offroading in the desert, boating in the ocean, lots of foreign music & performance acts tour to Dubai etc. However there is not the selection of culture & leisure activities that you get in major western cities.

It's a low tax jurisdiction (big bonus if you are young and on a good expat deal), alcohol can be served in places that have a license - mostly hotels and nightclubs. Real estate can be bought by foreigners, although it has boomed recently ($80k places gone up to $350k, as an example) and you may be better off renting to avoid price risk in the event of a bust or if you dislike the place and relocate later.