Moving from OPM to prop firm

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by RockTrader1, Mar 31, 2013.

1. I've been trading equities via IB managed accounts with my own RIA since 2005. Before that I was a full-time private trader. I've supported the family trading independently since 1997. Short-term strategies. I currently get a 25% performance fee. Averaged about $4 mil under management since RIA inception. Record is solid--no down years, about 80% months profitable, averaged about 20% net annual return. Minimal leverage--usually hold lots of cash. Up 23% in 2008. Worst DD a brief 12%. Have supportive trade records with IB.

I've decided to leave trading OPM behind and am actively seeking affiliation with a prop firm for the following reasons:

1. I've developed an edge in the intraday timeframe that I'm excited about. IB trader workstation is costing me--I know there is vastly superior trading software out there. Also, my trading volume is increasing--currently 150K+ shares/day. IB rate of .005/share is beginning to feel confiscatory.

2. I take fiduciary responsibility seriously and error on the side of conservatism trading client funds. On my own, I can apply my edge more aggressively, without the stress of client responsibilities and oversight. There is also the administrative/regulatory burden of the RIA. Focusing exclusively on trading will be very liberating.

3. Split would be much higher at trading firm. Even with initially less buying power at a prop firm, it's easy to envision netting significantly more $$ vs my current 25% cut of profits (before RIA expenses).