moving average on excel

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by travis, Apr 23, 2010.

1. travis

travis

I have an automated self-updating moving average, which basically is the average of the prices of the last x minutes, polled once per minute.

So this means the macros print price once every minute.

Someone else had written these macros for me years ago, and until now, being an amateur VBA programmer, I still haven't fully understood it.

This would not be a problem, because they work but the reason I want to understand them is to simplify them, because I started off with just one moving average and now I will need about 13 of them, on different markets.

Here's the macros:

1) Everything starts from this macro, which gets started by "ThisWorkbook":

Sub ma_timer()
    For i = 1 To 500
    ma.Cells(i, 1) = tickers.Cells(12, 20)
    Next
    TimerOn 60000
    End Sub

And this is clear but I don't know what happens next

2) Then we get on another sheet, where I have all these macros:

Private Declare Function SetTimer Lib "User32" _
    (ByVal hWnd As Long, ByVal nIDEvent As Long, _
    ByVal uElapse As Long, ByVal lpTimerFunc As Long) As Long

Private Declare Function KillTimer Lib "User32" _
    (ByVal hWnd As Long, ByVal nIDEvent As Long) As Long

Dim averageprice(2) As Double
    Dim minutes As Integer
    Dim TimerID As Long

Public Sub TimerOn(Interval As Long)
    On Error Resume Next
    TimerID = SetTimer(0, 0, Interval_eur, AddressOf myroutine)
    End Sub

Private Sub myroutine()
    On Error Resume Next
    minutes = minutes + 1
    averageprice(0) = averageprice(0) + tickers.Cells(12, 20)

If minutes = 1 Then
    For i = 1 To 499

ma.Cells(i, 1) = ma.Cells(i + 1, 1)

Next
    meu.Cells(500, 1) = averageprice(0) / minuti

Erase averageprice
    minutes = 0

End If

End Sub