Most losers in a row you have had?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TraderBontu, Oct 5, 2009.

1. Im fairly new to trading.

My last six trades have all been losers, although i didnt take any trades today.

Feeling quite low at the moment.

I think my system only has a 50% win rate.

So i should expect six losers in a row often, maybe even 10 losers in a row according to the books i have read.

What is the most losers in a row that you have had?

2. Nexen

Nexen

I don't think I have actually taken notes but probably close to 7 or 8.

3. sub0

sub0

After 2 losses in a row I try to step back and assess what I'm doing wrong.

I think a common problem I've had is I don't give my trades enough time to materialize. I trade options and I've grown to realize that this is more critical in comparison to stocks. You have to be willing to swing trade, let it dip back some before taking a loss. Don't jump out at the first sign that it's running away from you because you'll be whipsawed every time.

Another thing I've realized is you really have to take your time when putting on a trade. There is nothing wrong with sitting it out, maybe even waiting a little longer. In most cases, securities only move so fast intraday, you won't miss much. If anything it will either confirm your suspicions or will give you a better buying opportunity later or the next day.