More Risky: Small Business Owner or Trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by lpchad, Jan 4, 2009.

Which is more risky - small business owner or trader?

1. Small Business Owner

49 vote(s)
    48.5%
  2. Trader

52 vote(s)
    51.5%
  1. lpchad

lpchad

On the heels of my last thread, it was suggested that being a small business owner is more risky than trading.

Let's have some discussion on this.

2. lescor

lescor

You don't equate trading to running a business?

3. That's his FIRST problem right there.

4. Trading is like a practice of the lowest sorts. It's a daily, solitary grind. If you die tomorrow, there are no residuals and no hard assets to monetize. It all goes with you in your grey matter.....

5. As a small business owner I could buy an apple cart, go to the wholesaler, buy some apples and sell them.

As a trader, all the apples I buy have worms in them and they are hard to sell.

6. if you have the capital to do it - be a business owner by buying stock. no employees, administration, government pestering, market cycles, cocksucker banks, inventory or bullshit.

Trading is a business like any other. It's hard to make $, requires loads of work and discipline and time. Very few are capitalized to do it and few succeed from what i have seen but very few succeed in business (outside of squeaking out a shitty living).

Hire Bill Gates or Steve Jobs to work for you via stock ownership and if they don't perfom - dump their ass with your sell button.

7. Being both, but not primarily a trader, I picked trader.

8. Stosh

Stosh

I've done both. Made a living for over 30 years owning a small construction business.....did stock investing as hobby. Retired now.......started trading full time a year ago....great timing, but hanging in.