More Harm Than Good?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by rs7, Jul 9, 2002.

1. rs7

rs7

I have been following pretty much all of the current threads here for several weeks. I have been a spectator and a participant. I have been an driver and a hitchhiker.

I need to ask myself at this point if I have been wasting my time, or if this has been time well spent.

If I learn about trading here, then I consider that to be time well spent. If I do not, then I have obviously spent my time poorly.

If I was able to contribute for the good, then I have spent my time well also.

If I have wasted my words and shared my thoughts for the benefit of no one, then again I have wasted my time.

If I have been entertained, then is that time well spent? If I have entertained others, is that time well spent? Or is this the wrong forum? Is the entertainment just a waste of space and time?

I have recently been trying to follow the threads of Super_ego who obviously wants to be inflammatory. I find him to be at times knowledgeable, but always abusive....which is fine....it is obviously his intent. Why would he use a name like that if he did not want to ruffle feathers? I enjoy his posts and his humor, but I am put off by his cheerleaders who have decided that questioning SE is heresy.

I have watched the "superstition" thread turn into a never ending debate over the merits of religion and God. I have witnessed the ostracism of Lundy for giving his opinions, and the Moonie mentality of the followers of Super_Ego.

I have seen Tony Oz respond immediately to a challenge only to be derided for his generous and immediate response. Don Bright gets abused for no reason other than he is high profile, and his success is resented by some here that have not achieved his stature his experience or his prosperity.

I have been called names for disagreeing with the opinions of others, and I have been applauded for writing thoughts that I never implied were original.