Monitoring an ATS's performance

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by dom993, Dec 7, 2011.

1. dom993

dom993

I have developed an ATS using 18months of data, then did some blind testing of it on the prior 18month which showed similar performance, and I have been using it live for about 5months. It is a relatively low frequency intraday trading system, the total 36month backtesting has about 430 trades, a win% of 65% for an average payout ratio of ~1 (avg win ~= avg loss).

The live results for about 65 trades are about the same for win%, but the payout ratio is down to ~0.75.

To monitor the system's performance level ... so far what I have been doing is to compare the actual live performance (win%, peak equity, max drawdown) with MonteCarlo simultations using the backtesting distribution, looking at how many standard-deviations away are the live results vs. the mean in the MonteCarlo simulation. I am far from a statistician expert, and I understand that this method would work if the process modeled did follow a gaussian distribution, which is not the case for most trading related distributions.

What would you suggest in order to get a better assessment of the current live performance vs the backtested performance?

Thanks in advance

2. Are you trading it live with live money?

3. one quick thing you can do without burning any more data; just to compare if what you are seeing live is in sync with the data you tested is take all 5month rolling periods in the 36months you tested and see the mean profit per trade.

I am sure all of them wont be 1; some will be less; some more. That would give you about 30rolling periods. From there you could if you want get a probability for you seeing 0.75 avg. But once you see the numbers for each of the rolling periods it should be intutive whether what you are seeing is inline with that particular backtest period or not.