Money management

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by Hamb-ltrd, Nov 16, 2003.

1. I was wondering if anybody can recommend any book about

money management.

I came across to “The trading game”, that I am reading now.

Basically recommends an antimartingale approach witch is well
    known.

Also, I am a a discretionary trader and maybe some tactics that

apply to system traders might not be appropriate for me

I would appreciate any information that you might have on the subject.

Regards

Hamb

2. IMHO, the major problem with what you learn about money management in the books is they never address personal psychology. You have to comfortably be able to pull off what they suggest doing. Rarely is that consistantly doable especially with a descretionary methodology.

Money management is indeed the most important part of your plan. Get some ideas together and backtest them (manually if need be) and see which one(s) just feel right. If it backtests profitable AND you feel at ease doing it, work on that path.

3. Don't know about the books...I've seen a few advertised....I always keep in mind:

1. Probability of the move
    2. My risk level to profit goal (what is my profit goal and how much am I willing to lose to get it).
    3. Bet and/or
    4. position size

The common thread i see with most successful traders is the absense of major disasters....I know van tharpe wrote a book on position sizing...anyone read it?

4. gms

gms

"Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom" is the book by Van Tharpe. The single best thing about this book is the strategy of position sizing. The rest is so-so and spawns fodder for threads about things like random-entry systems which isn't really what this book teaches. Keep in mind that the title says "Trade Your Way".

You may also want to look at Ed Seykota's risk management ideas at www.tradingtribe.com

5. The idea is to get defensive when thinks go wrong and offensive (betting more),
    when equity increases.