Money management - any Excell wizzards on the board?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by neo_hr, Oct 4, 2001.

1. neo_hr

neo_hr

Dear Traders!

I am just learning about the moneymanagement and have a following idea :

Since the stock direction on the next day can be up or down (50/50) chance, similar to a coin flip, I d like to have a program (or, I was thinking maybe a spreadsheet) that would let me input initial nr. (or acct balance), risk (percentage) Id put on any one position, the number of flips and finally the portion I loose on a losing trade(1x) with the portion i win on a winning trade (2x or even 3X).

If anyone knows how to do it, has something finished, knows ofa website Id be more than thankful.

Good tradimg to you all!

Alex

--------------------------------------------------
    UPDATE : OK, heres the link to the article I read and why I actually started this thread so you can get a broader picture

http://www.geocities.com/iceman_hr/article.html
    ---------------------------------------------------

2. sallyboy

sallyboy Guest

neo,

Obviously you can pursue trading as you see fit, but I just had to comment that I don't think the direction of a stock the next day is simply 50/50. There is a chance to go in either direction (depending on the stock, where it is, where it's been, etc.), but could be 60/40, 70/30, 80/20, etc. on any given day. Placing bets & risking capital when you have no clue which way a stock is likely to go the following day is akin to gambling. While some compare trading to gambling, it is not. With trading you have to manage money, manage trades, & go where the risk/reward ratio is in your favor. (And for those that might bring up the argument that there are professional gamblers, I would agree. But there is a big difference between a truly professional gambler & a non-pro.)

In sum, I don't think there is any magic formula in trading that will guarantee positive results.

Cheers!

3. neo_hr

neo_hr