Momentum/Scalp traders

Discussion in 'Trading' started by proptrader11, Apr 3, 2010.

1. Does anyone else trade like this?

I have been a consistent profitable trader for the past year. I learned a basic scalping strategy a year ago which was built for quick .05-.10 cent profits with minimal downside. After using this strategy for about a year it has been effective with average days of $300-$700 and negative days of -$200 max. All in all it is consistent if followed to a T and does work.

But I am at a point now from looking at the Level II books all day where I can analyze in about two minutes of watching a security which way it is looking to move based on momentum. I believe this is a 6th sense I have developed as I do not use any indicators at all, no charts, moving averages, vol, etc, etc, nothing but a level II order entry book is all I need and I can get a good enough feel which way the stock is heading. So I have decided to forget all the rules I followed for scalping and just trade based off of "my gut instinct" (momentum). So all I am doing now is jumping in and out of different securities all day by giving the Level II book a glance and taking a direction. Sure sometimes I am wrong but right now about 70% I am right. This honestly feels like gambling to me as I can't believe I am still consistent now with doing this for 3 months without doing research or using any type of strategy.

So I am wondering for all the momentum traders out there, is there really a strategy for this or are you just going with the flow and jumping in and out of stocks all day with just giving them the once over and going for it?

2. You take whatever is relative to the current volatility.

If you want to stay in this game for the long haul, my advice is this:
    Learn to hold longer and grow some fucking balls.

3. Cheese

Cheese

I agree that you are gambling.