Missing Desktop From Display Properties

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by Scalper007, Aug 16, 2008.

1. I was searching the web for a stock screener and all of a sudden, something loaded onto my desktop and my background is now blue and it says "Warning! Spyware detected on your computer! Install an antivirus or spyware to clean your computer." I used the restore feature to restore my previous settings and now the program itself is gone, but the background is still there and the desktop tab from my display settings window is missing. Please see pic. How do I get my peaceful island background back? :( :confused: :mad: see image below:

2. missing desktop tab:

3. gnome

gnome

Try installing and running a spyware or malware cleaner... and CCleaner.

Use System Restore to restore to an even earlier time.

None of the above may work. It goes to show that (1) System Restore is only minimal backup and doesn't always work they way we hope/expect, and (2) other, REAL backup is a necessity... Like Acronis True Image.

4. paulxx

paulxx

You've got spyware.

Download and run smitfraudfix here: http://siri.geekstogo.com/SmitfraudFix.php

Even if it's not smitfraud you've got I think it should reset the problems with the desktop tab not appearing. Choose option 2 after running.

Also, check out my post here and follow the links to other posts for a full cleanup: http://elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=90568&perpage=6&pagenumber=5

There seems to be a plague of this type of spyware, I've had about four cases in the last week.

5. Ahhh shit...My computer is cooked. Now I am getting some kind of a db run time error blue screen that says that it is preventing the computer from damage..Then I press escape and return to windows..

I dont even have the restore cd...

I'll try that spyware thing. thanks

6. I agree you have been attacked, but I'm a bit confused... Is it your desktop background is "missing" or your entire desktop as in all the icons, etc??