Minimum accounts

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by milemke08, Jun 30, 2012.

1. I'm a college student that has recently developed a HFT strategy and am in live testing stages right now. So far things have been going well and as I get ready to proceed into live trading I'm looking at different brokerages and have a very simple question: Are there any reliable brokerages that have a minimum amount of less than $10,000?

As a college student that's a bit out of my range right now, so I'm just looking to see if any other ones have decent service with a smaller minimum requirement. I understand you get what you pay for, so if anybody has an opinion of the brokerages they tell me about that would be most appreciated. Thank you.

2. If it is too HIgh frequency , you will get eaten alive by commissions and slippage with your live account at the novice retail level., It's how brokers make their money. You need to have co-lo server and be an exchange member/lease for that kind of thing.

AMP has min 500 dollar account opening,

oanda you can start with any amount,

My suggestion would be to start an account at oanda with $100 and treat it as if it were a million. Do this for at least a year or two until you stop blowing the account up. Then progress or asses your commitment from there.

best

3. you'd get better replies if you'd be a little more forthcoming on what it is you are trading. forex? stocks? eminis? options? bonds? other?

nothing wrong with not being able to meet the 10k min, and even if you could that's not enough, but there are ways to get around it if you can trade small enough.

IMHO, the number 1 reason for falure is undercapitalization.

4. Please define high frequency. How many distinct trades per month representing how many contracts?

5. Right, I can't believe I forgot that part; stocks, I'm trading stocks. Sorry about that.