Mid-price for options

Discussion in 'Options' started by Onra, Jan 22, 2018.

1. Onra

Onra

Hi all,

I'm new to options and my question is about stockoptions that are thinly traded;
    the spread is often huge and when I buy from my (European) broker I get filled at the Ask. So basically my postion could be 30-40% down immediately...

US based TastyWorks filled me at a mid price, which changes the whole game...!
    They claim that about 50% of the orders get filled at mid price.
    My European broker assured me they're not that generous :)

So... is there a difference between brokers and how do professionals deal with this mysterious "mid price" which is not quoted or visible...??

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

I don’t know what your current broker is doing with your orders, but it is up to you to work your orders with limits to determine what the best price is you can get. Our option orders get posted for the world to see on one of the 15 option exchanges.

I also think as a novice trader, you should avoid options with wide spreads. The cost to enter and exit is too high. And, any broker that tells you to expect executions all the time at the midpoint is telling you something that is not up to them.

3. Onra

Onra

Thanks Robert.
    (... to be fair; I said 50% and not: "all the time")

Do most of your clients work with limit prices somewhere half way between bid & ask?

4. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Even 50% is not a fair expectation. It is a random value that will change from symbol to symbol and how meaningful the midpoint is.