Mentors?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by mag, Sep 20, 2006.

1. mag

mag

I'm 20, I've been trading for 4 months and I've lost a grand and gained some knowledge but I'd like to have a teacher.

Is it common for investors to be willing to mentor people outside family members?

I know of a value investor that's been working at MS forever but it's one of those friend of a friend deals. Besides him I don't know how to find successful investors willing to be my mentor. Any ideas?

lawrence-lugar likes this.
  2. whatever you do, dont be quick to shell out a lot of money to a would be 'mentor'

there's a whole industry of people who cant really trade, so they prey on people like you

the paradox is, if you have something that really works you make more money using it than teaching it, and teaching what you have may threaten to dilute or kill it, if it really works - therefor, it is very difficult to find the person you are looking for, because they tend to not be in the teaching business

so most of what is 'mentored' is priced in the thousands for what you could get in books, or even on the internet

CarlosRay likes this.
  3. best thing for you is the school of hard knocks. the pain endured in this school can be alleviated somewhat if you do some research. go thru the threads, read some books, check out some financial sites and see what you're attracted to. most good traders are not interested in mentoring some kid. (sorry but true)

4. Try this guy ... he's been calling every major turn of the market since the 1980's. And only this year started mentoring. Says he's getting old: 60 :)

http://caldaroew.spaces.live.com/

Suggest you follow him for a while ... You'll see

5. laputa

laputa

I suggest you learn it on your own instead of looking for a mentor. Your time and energy will be better spent reading and thinking than trying to follow the others.