Mentor(s) and help?

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by bltrading, Jul 3, 2003.

1. I am new to posing in the forums and trading(2 years). I have been lurking and doing searches here for a couple months and am glad I found somewhere where successful traders meet. I have even seen a couple names I've recognized from books I've read.

Little about myself:
    I got involved in the markets when I lost around 80k in my 401k plan due to the bubble blow up. I worked for one of those companies and owned stock through the 401k. I was once around 120k and it went all the way to 40k. I then decided that it would never happen again and that I would learn about the markets. I deposited 10k into an Ameritrade account and ran it up to 16k in before blowing that account up and going down to 5.8k left. I withdrawed what was left and quit trading. I quit trading for 8 months to learn tech. analysis and proper trading strategies and for the past 2 months I have been trading successfully with Tradestation in an IRA account. (It's the 40k stake I had left that I rolled over to the account.)
    During my studies - I've read several, several books - Trading in the Zone, Money management of top traders, Rules of the Trade, Reminisces, and a couple other 1900-1920's contrarian books to name a few. I've also studied charts and tech. analysis tiringly for the past year. Chart after chart after chart, hours upon hours a day.
    I am a swing trader mostly - I cut my losses to where I lose no more than a half percent of my account on any one trade, I don't throw more than 10% of my total account at any one trade either. Use a 3:1+ risk/ratio. I am currently studying daytrading, swing trading techniques.
    I believe I am well on the way to being successful - I know it's myself and my emotions that I have to overcome, not the markets.