Memories of Octobers past

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Tums, Sep 29, 2007.

1. Tums

Tums

What were you doing when the market was crashing?

2. Oct. 87', I was 10 but remember it. My Dad had some money saved. All I knew was buy low, sell high. He started trading at that point and remember him telling me he made 10k which was a lot then. He got hooked and got greedy and pissed it away over the years...

Every October, people expect a crash. Why do I think it can't happen in this day and age? As awesome as it would be as a trader, I just think with all the daytraders and new technology and global marketplace, a 20% drop won't happen. Investors are more savvy these days...

Since logically, it should happen, it won't and I'm usually bearish. Everything looks like it should be set up for disaster. It should of happened Aug 17th but didn't since we have a FED that justs prints money and can prop up the markets whenever it wants. So if we do dip, again there will be permabulls just bitching about more cuts...

The only way we crash is a global war or severe event unforseeable. Economics just don't mater anymore IMHO.

3. Moreagr

Moreagr

economics does matter did you experience 2000-2002 bear?

4. Of course. Tech bubble dieing, election year malay, unforeseeable terrorist attack, nervousness of more, anthrax mailings, etc.

All great points on buying on fear and uncertainty and geo-political problems driving the markets down. I remember buying and people calling me nuts. Too bad I got out too early on small gains that would of been larger if I just bought and held....Not knowing what would happen the next day after a big gain, I would just book profits as the fear factor was in all of us.