Mechanical or Intuitive

Discussion in 'Trading' started by dani23, Aug 21, 2001.

1. dani23

dani23

Hi members.

Deep respect for the great postings here. Thank to you all.

But let me ask one question:

I wanna trade for a living. I am in the learning phase now.

Wat's the right or the better way in your opinion?

On one side:
    I've known hundreds of professional traders throughout my career. I don't want to disappoint you, but I know of only two who where able to make a steady living for themselves with a mechanical system.
    - Linda Raschke

And Mark Douglas is writing in Trading in the Zone, on page 90 about a state of mind in complete harmoney. The example with the foock of birds or a shool of fish how can change direction simultaneously.

ON THE OTHER SIDE:

I her many traders saying the the only way is to develop a mechanical trading system and follow the ruls:

Or Mark Douglas on Page 173:

"The Mechanical Stage

The mechanical stage of trading is specifically designed to build the kind of trading skills (trust, confidence, and thinking in probabilities) that will virtually compel you to creat consistent results. I define consistent results as a steadily rising equity curve with only minor draw downs that are the natural consequence of edges that didn't work."

SO WHAT IS THE BETTER WAY?

Develop a system based on 0 and 1 or IF, THEN, ELSE or listen to my heart - and learn to do this right.

Thanks for all your advice

Greetings from Austria

Daniela

2. Whatever method you use, make sure you enforce your stop loss. The method is less important than how you control your losses.