Measuring success

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by CarlTiger, Mar 18, 2011.

1. CarlTiger

CarlTiger

Hi all,

I am a fairly new trader, only been trading live for a few months. I have some things a like to achieve on both short and long time frames. I am just curious, on you, more experienced traders, what do you strive for, what are your goals with trading?

May seem like a very philosofical one, but it would be interesting to see what your ambitions are.

All the best,

Carl

2. My ambitions are simple. To make enough money from trading to live comfortably. While I'm still working my goal is to grow my account to make the first goal easier to achieve.

3. Not a single losing year (no yearly loss) for 10 years to 15 years, is the true measurement for trading success. Trial by fire. My friend forex manager has achieved this success/goal.

4. rwk

rwk

In trading, it's the "pinball principle". When you win, your prize is that you get to play again.

5. NoDoji

NoDoji

I measure trading success the same as any business.

First, you develop a business plan. In trading your business plan is based on research in which you define setups that provide you with a statistical edge that demonstrates consistent profitability in your preferred trading time frame through varying market conditions (bull/bear, trend/range, calm/volatile). Your plan needs to be well-defined with rules for position size, trade entries, risk management, and profit-taking. The rules should be such that you can easily instruct a programmer how to code them (automated trading system), or teach them to a 10-year-old.

The less discretion involved, the easier it will be to attain consistent profitability in the long run:

Good: Buy all new highs in an established uptrend (price is above a rising 20-bar moving average)