Mean Reversion Strategies

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by No.Heat, Jan 16, 2010.

1. No.Heat

No.Heat

Moderators and avid readers of Elite Trader,

I'm interested in learning and hopefully understanding how profitable mean reversion strategies reach fruition.

Unfortunately my background is price action and trend following, therefore I'm not very knowledgeable in this department.

Any particular links in ET I could study to get a head start please post them here.

Much appreciated.

No Heat

2. jnbadger

jnbadger

3. No.Heat

No.Heat

jnbadger,

I appreciate you taking the time to show me the way into these discussions.

Thank you.

No Heat

4. jnbadger

jnbadger

5. 377OHMS

377OHMS

When I started out I was interested in mean reversion. I gathered that simply meant identification of securities with high correlation, recognition of divergences and having the apparatus necessary to realize long and short positions on the respective securities adequately fast to exploit them.

But when I got to a hedge fund I quickly found that the magic was in the knowledge of the correlating securities. There were people there who took that very far down the rabbit hole. Experienced quants found correlations between things that were seemingly unrelated. Things with persistent correlation but requiring all kinds of normalization to see it. Stuff I would have never thought to look for in a million years. Not trying to discourage but there are many smart people in that game.

6. No.Heat

No.Heat

Even Shakespeare started with his "ABCs" :)

No Heat

7. the1

the1

Mean reversion strategies only work in very high volatile markets. In the current climate it would be easier for you to just light a match to your money. Trend follow or nothing at the moment. When volatility increases try mean reversion.

8. jnbadger

jnbadger

That would depend on how he implements it.