Me and the ES

Discussion in 'Journals' started by shortorlong, Mar 4, 2008.

1. I'm a noob..

What's my profile?
    - Been trading options for about 4 months but I don't like stockpicking in this environment.

- I have very small amount of capital. Just to play with really, it's not significant enough to lose, or to try and grow at 20% per year.

- I'm going to take my capital and trade 1 or 2 ES contracts at a time, < 15 trades per day, mostly from the opening bell to noon eastern time.

- I am using NinjaTrader with IQFeed for data and only using a sim/playmoney account for now. I expect to switch to realmoney in a couple of weeks if my results are okay.

Why the journal?
    - I want some accountability for myself to help me trade better. Knowing that I'll need to post my progress up here will force me to trade more carefully.

- I'll also try and post about things that I think I'm doing right or wrong. I might get some tips from anyone who is unfortunate enough to stumble into my journal of despair :eek:

2. Good day today - that's probably why I decided to start posting a journal today :D

Performance
    - # of Trades: 12
    - # of Winners: 11
    - % Winning Trades: 92%
    - # of ES ticks/points profit (after commisions): 20/5

Today's Trading
    - Mostly just straight-up discretionary trading

- Price was pretty wavy today. On the way up, I was watching for price to clip the top of the Keltner band, waiting for a red candle or what appeared to be bullish exhaustion, and entering short.

- On the way down I was watching for price to clip the middle of the Keltner band, waiting for a red candle or bullish exhaustion and entering short.

- Note, I had a bearish bias this morning, so 10 out of 12 trades today were short.

The Losers