MD or Trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Slide, Feb 28, 2009.

1. Slide

Slide

I'm a medical student in Europe and have traded part time for a few years. I'll be finished with school this year and can't decide if I should go for clinical medicine (with absolutely no chance of trading part time for at least 5 years) or if I should go full-time trading. This is a very difficult decision for me. Did any of you give up a career (medicine or other) for trading? Did you regret doing so?
    I am only semi-successful with trading (but I do make a profit), if I had to do it full-time with the pressure to make a living, it would be a different situation and I don't know if I could cope/or at least, if that would negatively affect my trading.On the other hand, if I commit all my time to trading, I might be more successful.
    I love the freedom of the trader, and I hate the lack of freedom in working in a hospital (I actually think that only other doctors can truely understand what I mean, it really is bad).
    I don't know if you can help, I hope some of you went through the same decision process as I am in now, and it would be great to know if you have been successful or not. A role model would be worth a lot.

Thanks for your time!

2. Be the trader... journey would be harder, but you only live once !!!

3. LLLLOOOOLLLLL
    I'm sure there are much worst jobs some people are slaving at to gamble their mini accounts in hope of a better life. Most jobs are boring in the long run.
    Understand that there is a huge gap between having a paycheck and having only hope and expectations of profits.
    As a MD you may make 100k euros (I have no clue how much it is in Europe). Than if you want to make the same amount of money in trading I guess that as a student your going to need to be hundreds of % up per year, not a small order.
    I believe in following our dreams but there is a huge risk here. Only a selected few make it.