McMillan on Options vs Options as a Strategic Investment

Discussion in 'Options' started by elitetradesman, Jun 23, 2011.

1. I'm a beginner in options trading and have limited experience with it. I have sold some covered calls and naked puts, that's pretty much it. The only book I read on options is New Insights on Covered Call Writing, by Lawrence G. McMillan, which I regret reading because it's bloated and repetitive.

Now I'm looking for a new book to read and It appears that McMillan on Options and Options as a Strategic Investment are some of the most popular reads, also by the same author :D, and I'm not sure which book to read. I flipped through a few pages of both, and didn't see much difference.

I prefer books that are precise and concise. Which one would you recommend?

2. McMillan on Options is more of a book that gives a basic overview of options' strategies and then shows people how to try make money using things like Put/Call ratios, Unusual Options volume, and spreading things like Gold vrs. Gold miners or whatever.

Options as a Strategic Investment is really more a book about showing each strategy and giving guidelines for controlling losses, locking in gains, etc. by rolling or whatever. There is very little attempt to show someone "how" to profit by watching charts, or viewing Put/Call ratios or whatever.

I have both books and I think they are good for reference. I can't say which one is better, because it really depends on the person. If you want some insight on how an advanced Option trader thinks, McMillan on Options would be more like that, even though it is quite dated now.

If you need a guide of popular strategies, profit / loss charts, adjustments to make if it goes for you, against you, etc. then Options as a Strategic Investment might be better.

JJacksET4

3. Thanks, JJacksET4.