MBA Internship Advice Sought

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ScapGF, Sep 17, 2008.

1. ScapGF

ScapGF

Hello Everyone

To be brief, I completed my undergraduate degree in Finance at Tulane in New Orleans in 2004. During the final semester I was fortunate enough to take a class that taught how to trade Eur/Usd in the spot market. Succeeding in that class was my priority and when all was said and done I earned an internship position with a fund designed for the best of the student traders. The internship trading lasted a few months and I finished out with the best returns of the eight traders. From that point I experienced moderate success until my account got blown out when my retail broker, Refco, went down in a glorious conflagration of fraud and scandal. In retrospect, that event gave me the utmost respect for trying one’s best to avoid the ubiquitous black swans that meander stealthily through trading ponds.

Today I am an MBA student in Tulane’s full-time program with an expected graduation date of May 2010. That, as one might have guessed, is why I am posting this thread about internships. Specifically, a position for the next summer.

Next week I will be in New York for a networking event from 9/24 – 9/28 and was hoping some of the good people of Elite Trader could offer some advice or steer me towards any contacts whom I should reach out to if at all possible.

As a frame of reference, I am currently scheduled for site visits with Morgan Stanley, Citi, and a buy side firm. If anyone would like to meet up for a chat that would be wonderful. Also, any words of wisdom or direction are humbly appreciated; the good, bad, and the ugly!

Best,
    John Suarez