MBA after establishing your business...?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Colombo, Dec 14, 2006.

1. Colombo

Colombo

Here is one for guys that are a little more serious into their trading careers and care to share some experiences.

33, Ex Int'l Bank Exec. Trading for 3 years, comfortably self sustaining 1.5+-. Family of 4. Self taught.

Thinking about returning for an MBA with the sole purpose self realization. Am not considering this with the intent of enhancing my trading, my strategy, (don't think it is necessary) but to get the details on the nooks and crannies of deep Finance and Econ. which are perhaps overlooked on the day to day, maybe even non-essential given all the info you have available today on the net. But who knows, I may surprise myself.

Any (serious) opinions of those trading for a living successfully (and I emphazise successfully) who have considered or gone forward with something similar? Pros/Cons? similar experiences....

Thanks

2. Hey,

I don't trade for a living, but wish I could and this place is great for economics. But, I do have an MBA, so I thought I'd share my perspective.

Unfortunately, most MBA programs all teach the same stuff in the same way. If you believe that education changes your thinking, then you might agree that getting an MBA could change your perspective on things in the business world. But since you're self-taught, this could actually be a bad thing. Part of your "edge" may be that you don't think like an MBA, which means you don't follow the herd. The patterns you see might be invisible to someone with a different thought process.

Now...saying all that, it might be handy to have a better idea of how the herd thinks. So, if you get an MBA, decide from day one that the purpose of your being there is to understand an MBA's thought process, but don't let it muck up what you're doing. Be detached.

SM

3. Think about the future...