Matlab research in Los Angeles

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by okresik, Dec 28, 2008.

1. okresik

okresik

I'm in Los Angeles and wondering if there is anyone interested in collaborating on a new research effort using Matlab to analyze data and build a trading system? I am a Matlab expert and have been using the tool to research price action and develop trading systems. If you're interested, we just might be able to accomplish a lot together.

Brad

2. aov

aov

Hi Brad,
    My name is Mike and I live in Chicago and would like to talk with you about your post, I think it is a great idea. My e-mail is aov@sbcglobal.net. Hope to speak with you soon.

3. I am in L.A too, may I ask you what kind of trading do you do ?

4. aov

aov

opening range break out futures and fx. what about you?

5. my question was for the OP, anyways I do non directional trading with options selling and directional with trend following

6. Brad,

Just curious. Matlab is something I've never gotten into but have always had an interest in. My day job has me performing data mining on very large data sets. I assume that your education in Matlab was actually non-trading related correct? If so, how did you get your start in Matlab, and what do you consider expert level?

Regards,

John

7. okresik

okresik

Hey this is great. I didn't know if I would find anyone interested. I'll try to respond to several points in this post.

I am a radar data analyst and radar detection algorithm developer. I do research using mathematics to program algorithms for various radar applications. Although the radar work involves somewhat complicated math, my trading is more about technical analysis and KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid). I built my own backtesting platform in Matlab and have used it for my research. I have many areas of interest. Current areas of interest include: