Math question...

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by trade-ya1, Jul 20, 2005.

1. I would like to create an investment portfolio with a low volatility output comprised of high volatility inputs. Read: a Fund of Funds product comprised of funds which individually have a high volatility return stream, however, I want the monthly performance of the FoF portfolio to be a low volatility return stream. Obviously, it goes without saying the the inputs (component Funds) will be highly diversified. Can anyone comment on the math involved here and the validity of creating such a portfolio idea?

2. Correlation = (Covariance AB)/(StdDevA * StdDevB)

Variance of PortfolioAB = weightA^2 * StdDevA^2 + weightB^2 * StdDevB^2 + Correlation of AB * weightA * weightB *StdDevA*StdDevB

StdDeviation of Portfolio = SQRT(Portfolio Variance)

That's off the top of my head, but I think that's right. So basically your overall portfolio volatility will be a function of correlation and volatility -- which is very straightforward. You'd have to build a matrix to figure ot the total vol.

A great resource to calc this in Excel is Hoadley's option plugin -- it gives you a value at risk calc, which can also be viewd as the volatility of the portfolio -- often quoted as a 2 std dev format (95% confidence). If you can get your hands on the daily/monthly data of the underlying funds, I'd use Hoadley to figure out the value at risk for the portfolio...you could compare this to the overall std dev for each individual fund and see how it lowers to total vol. (www.hoadley.net)

3. FWIW, I've found the most of the classical "math" formulations don't works well in practice. I suspect it's because most of the classical statistical math assume normal distribution.