Mastering the trade

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Justins62490, Aug 28, 2011.

1. I am new to trading and have been studying trading strategys lately. I am currently reading Mastering the Trade by Carter. I beleive this book was written years ago and my question is are these strategies still useful today? I have studied his strategies on today's markets and they never seem to work out. Im just wondering if these techniques are too old for the markets now a days.

Thanks

2. J Ski

J Ski

I'm a newbie too, and unless you write something really stupid, then you will sit here like I did and ask questions and hope for the holy grail answer.
    Recently, I have read some threads and it has cleared a lot up.
    But, I am nowhere near the holy grail, and I am new.
    From reading what you wrote, you have answered your own question.
    "Are these strategies useful today?"
    "I have applied these strategies to today' s markets, and they don't seem to work."

3. I guess your right. Know any moder books on strategies??E

4. tim888

tim888

Are you sure you understand the methods? Can you describe one?

5. Pivot points:
    If a stock breaks a pivot point and then turns around right after and come back over the pivot point to buy. Then it should continue in that direction and then sell as it reaches the next pivot point above. To me that sounds like trying to catch a falling knife with only the hopes that it will reverse due to support from the pivot point.

I have checked stocks to see if this would work, and honestly, they seem completely unaffected by pivot points.