Master one single technique?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by novicetrader69, Sep 5, 2018.

1. I don't have vast trading experience but neither I'm completely new to the topic and I realize that the idea I've been maturing over time is that to have profits and even good profits it would probably be enough to master one single technique. In fact it is probably better to constantly leverage one single technique than many, and maybe the single most important reason to trying your hand at many different techniques is to exactly identify the most effective one.

Does it make sense to more experience traders in this forum? I'd appreciate having your point of view on this.

nt

Last edited: Sep 5, 2018
    peter2h and Opteronion like this.
  2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Start with one. Since nothing works all the time, after you "master" one, whatever that means, learn others and test them.

timdug and BONECRUSHER like this.
  3. MarkBrown

MarkBrown

totally agree - this is by far the best course. make money then study to death.

4. ironchef

ironchef

I am a one trick pony. :D

DTB2 likes this.
  5. Peter8519

Peter8519

Are you referring to trend following, swing trading, etc. strategies as techniques? It's difficult to have a single technique that would perform well in all market conditions. Unless, you are willing to stay on the sideline when that particular technique is not doing well. Over the years, one should accumulate enough tools to operate in that technique. The most important of all is the sense for the market condition and this experience takes time to learn.

6. ironchef

ironchef

A lucky one trick pony who started trading full time back in 2010, coincided with the start of this bull market. I have no idea what to do when this bull run stops.

That is why I am desperately trying to learn trading flies, condors...

7. Don’t master one type of trade. Master the Greeks to manage your entire portfolio.

8. tomorton

tomorton