Martha Stewart

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Tbill1, Jan 14, 2004.

1. Tbill1

Tbill1

Although I feel she is unfairly being singled out by the goverment, her " oral stop loss " story troubles me. When I was a broker years ago, a stop loss was always a written order that was GTC. Have things changed, or am I missing something?

Tbill

2. Mecro

Mecro

If any of us did the same trade, we would be busted and prosecuted.

It's just that our trial would not be publicized.

3. Brokers can be granted some measure of discretion by their clients. I would think the precise level of discretion would need to be stated in writting. Then, an 'oral stop loss' communicated by a busy executive to their broker would make sense. And the stop loss wouldn't necessarily be for a specific price target but perhaps could be something vague like 'if the market stalls out' or 'if you are hearing nervousness' or if 'rumors, unsubstatiated or otherwise, start to circle the stock.'

But of course we know Martha is reconstructing after the fact. If she has granted her broker written discretion I would think the case becomes extremely difficult to prosecute. Somehow of course, I doubt a written agreement exists, because there was in fact no discretion granted. :p

4. noddyboy

noddyboy

She is NOT charged for insider trading. So while you might think she is guilty of insider trading, the government obviously doesn't feel they have enough evidence to win THAT case.

It is amazing how many people think she is guilty. I like to think that she is innocent until proven guilty, and if the government is not even going to bring the case, then she is definately innocent of that charge.

Also, the volume that day was VERY abnormal. She account for a very very small percentage of that day's high volume. Are you sure the small fry's trades were busted and procecuted?

5. Mecro

Mecro