Market Profile Plus by bolter

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by bolter, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bolter

bolter

I’m kicking off this journal with two objectives in mind …..

1. To encourage further discussion about the practical application of Market Profiles.
    2. To get me back in sync with the markets (hopefully) and determine if my old techniques still work. The discipline of updating a journal will help keep me focused on a day-to-day basis.

Background
    I’ve been investing/trading for over 25 years – professionally (OPM) for the last 5 years. I have traded equities, options, and futures. These days I stick with the latter. I trade global markets and all 9 asset classes as and when. I am primarily a position trader using systems I have developed over the years. But when time permits and the market conditions are suitable I also love the cut and thrust of trading intra-day.

I haven’t day-traded since 2002 due to workload, and the fact that the markets have been fairly pedestrian. But now I have some time on my hands and the equity markets look set for a roller coaster couple of years. So it’s time to find out if I’ve still got it.

As part of my trading plan I will be PAPER TRADING for the month of February. If I meet certain objectives then I will go live March 1st.

Market Profile
    I learnt Market Profiles 10 years ago but I am not a purist by any means. I’ve long since forgotten most of Steidlmeyer and Dalton’s vernacular, but the concepts are firmly ingrained. If you need a backgrounder on Market Profile I strongly recommend you spend an hour reading the excellent thread created by They – http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9727. There are plenty of links, references, books, software and wisdom contained within.