Market Monk(ey)

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by floortradr542, Apr 2, 2006.

1. I have recently been reading NO_PM_PLEASE's ES REVERSAL Journal thread. His method viability, patience and candor has inspired to create my own. Thanks, NO_PM

Anyone remember the Market Monk thread? The general consensus is monk(ey) is an a$$. I recently had the unfortunate displeasure of doing business with him. I am still quite bitter about it so forgive me if I sound like I'm harping at times.

This joker wanted $10,000 for his lessons. We agreed to a half now, half later payment plan. As a struggling trader, I felt his fee would be worth the 10 ES points per contract per day via his former blog. Greed got the better of me. I know better than this.

I'll be damned if nothing good comes from all this. This thread is dedicated to sharing all that I have learned about his methodology. My unfortunate experience will be your gain. I'll disclose everything in pieces and I welcome all feedback; good or bad.

I'd like to hack him up with a machette as much as the next guy but let's see if there is viability to the method and not discard the information because we (I) do not like its source.

I will be referring to him as monkey from now on because to me, he is a big dumb ape. For starters, here are two important lessons..

1. NEVER send cash to anyone you haven't met.

2. Listen to your gut. Before I sent the cash my gut said "no" Greed got the better of me.

Next up. An overview...

2. Monkey uses a top-down approach to the markets. He trades ES only and used to trade Euro FX but the hours are killer.

Tools are one 24" screen and nine 20" screens.

The 24" screen displays the 1 minute chart. This is the primary chart for signals.

The others display 15 minute 60 minute, 180 minute, daily, various time frames of the RSI oscillator set to ES price movement and another monitor's RSI set to $INX prices. The RSI of $INX is used for more accurate readings.