Market Makers

Discussion in 'Trading' started by squirrel, Mar 3, 2001.

1. squirrel

squirrel

I am just beginning , faithfully studying everything I can,, trying to put all this into perspective,,,,, I have basic perception in level II,,, and realize the power that you have at your fingertips,,,, basic knowledge in TA and FA...One thing I would like to know is what basic advantage does the market maker have over you..I downloaded the demo on tradecast....been making imaginary trades,,,and have read about how reading the main MM and following his moves can help you....Is your main opponent really the MM or other daytraders?? What (who)is the axe??? and in laymans terms,,,,how can you really identify him ??? And can you be more profitable by following his moves once established who he is???

2. Well, there are a lot of questions there, but I'll try to answer some of them. First, the advantage the market makers have over individuals is first that they have the kind of money and volume to control the direction of a stock. The second is that they can camoflauge their trading by using ECN's as well as their MM ID, making it more difficult to identify their true intentions. The "axe" is the market maker who is controlling the price of a stock by constantly buying or selling, therefore keeping the price where they want it, or moving it in the direction they want.