Mark-to-Market

Discussion in 'Trading' started by RAY, Mar 18, 2001.

1. RAY

RAY

2 Questions;

This is my first year of M-t-M. I am going to have my return professionally done, but I still like to do it my-self to "check", and this will be my accountants first return that is M-t-M. He is good, but does not have ESP.

1. Were do you realize the interest earned on accounts designated as "trading" or "M-t-M." I am thinking it must be included on form 4797 (with the Cost basis, plus other improvements section), or some where on schedule C (other income, including Federal and state gasoline or...).? Maybe the interest from the mark-to-market accounts is just included with other interest?

2. Those that are M-t-M. Do you even include your trades that were for your trading business on a scedule D (being that the gain or loss is not a capital gain or loss)? Or, do you just list all trades and include it with the schedule C (this is what I am assuming)? If you do include with schedule D; how do you present it? I would "think (yes real thought!)" that you could just list the trades without a full Gain or loss for each one (no wash sale etc.).

Thank you so much.

I looked at my post and I mispelled "Interest" 3 times! I need a vacation!

2. white17

white17

Ray; interest earned goes on schedule B along with interest earned anywhere else. It is "ordinary" income not "capital".

You can report you trades in "aggregate" on schedule D and then reverse them off schedule D and onto schedule C. This makes them "ordinary" rather than "capital". There are also specific notes and references that must accompany these procedures. You must also file form 3117 "Application for Change of Accounting Method" as well as a section 481 adjustment in certain instances.