Margin vs. options time decay

Discussion in 'Options' started by crgarcia, Apr 26, 2007.

1. Margin at 9% equals paying 0.025% per day.

July 149 SPY Calls Ask: $4.40
    have an theta (time decay) of: -0.031
    This equals losing 0.70% per day, 28 times margin.

Which means:

Options writers have an edge over buyers.

If you buy options, buy them on margin, preferably portfolio margin. You get more leverage, losing less as time passes.

It's not surprising 90% of options expire worthless.

2. MTE

MTE

You do realize that pros pay a lot less in interest, don't you!? A good proxy for what they pay is the fed funds not some retail margin rate.

And don't use the statement you don't understand! 90% of options that are HELD TO EXPIRY expire worthless, not 90% of all options that existed at some point during the contract's life!

3. Crgarcia, apologies for intruding but I am new to Options and currently considering buying calls in coffee as the market has declined and with all the hype about China I think it may have some good potential from profits due to an increase in demand. What do you think I would be better off doing, buying ATM calls or selling ATM puts 3 months out. I am not taking any sides at the moment as I am not experienced enough, but I do see the point that MTE has just made in relation to options expiring worthless. I also believe that something which sounds too good to be true normally is, and if you are correct in saying that 90% of options expire worthless then my chances of making money by buying calls is going to be slim. Again I apologise for intruding but I want to start off on the right foot and get the opinions of various experienced traders after which I can then make up my own mind as to what may or may not be the best strategies to use in the Options market.Cheers.
    Derivman

4. MTE

MTE

Derivman,