Margin requirement for Calendar Spread

Discussion in 'Options' started by Koppanyi, Aug 18, 2005.

1. Koppanyi

Koppanyi

Hi,

I'm a beginner and next week I'll try to begin trading at IB with a margin account. I don't have too many funds to buy several contracts for covered call writing, so I want to set up Long Calendar Spreads with call options, but I'd like to be sure how margin works for this spread contruction.
    I heard that Calendar Spreads are purchased in a margin account, but no margin requirements is necessary because, theoretically, the purchased option has a longer life than the written option.
    What do I have to do if my short calls is exercised in an automated trading environment like IB? And what will the broker act after this?

Thank you!

2. MTE

MTE

Yes, you're right, there's no margin requirement for a long calendar spread, the only requirement is the intial debit.

You may want to ask IB about how they handle assignments, especially if you don't have enough capital to sustain the stock position. Generally, you'd have several alternatives. You can exercise your long option to cover the assignment, you can cover the stock position in the market and sell the long call, you can keep the resulting position if you like, and so on....

3. According to my experience, IB's approach to handling assignments is the silent treatment. One morning you'll wake up, and you think you are short puts, but you're not anymore--you're long stock (the converse for short calls). No bulletins; no emails. I don't mind, though. That's business.

4. Remember that all margin accounts must have a minimum of $2000 in equity.

5. Koppanyi

Koppanyi

Thanks MTE,

I'll ask IB for details. I can afford to buy cheaper stocks but I'd like to invest in more instuments with leverage. However I think if I allow the LEAP to be exercised, the leverage conception will break off.

6. Koppanyi

Koppanyi

Hi,

I'll transfer $5000, maybe it's enough to begin trading.