Margin/equity, for CPOs/CTAs

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by heech, Aug 26, 2009.

1. heech

heech

Hi there,

I'm still learning about the CPO/CTA business, so here's a newbie question.

How important is that margin/equity ratio? I've been told 20% is more or less standard, and 40-50% is perceived as "aggressive".

Just as background, let's make clear I'm talking about medium-sized investors potentially putting $500k-$10m to work, not institutional funds looking to place $50m.

For this class of investor, how likely are they to look at this number? Or are they only focused on Sharpe + ROR + drawdown numbers?

2. Well margin/equity ratio really depends on what your objective is and obviously waht % of your assets you would like to invest, so that part I cannot answer.

As far a criteria go, when we choose one we look at the following (no particular order):

Correlation, obviously the point is to diversify so it can't be too correlated to any "traditional" asset classes.

Drawdown, ROR ok. Sharpe is useless in these, volatility is too unpredictable because it does not give you a good idea of the actual risks you are taking. Skew and kurtosis are more relevant... Omega is also useful.

One last thing: NO SMA = NO GO, that is an institutional requirement but I suggest you insist also

3. heech

heech

Very useful thoughts, thanks.

By SMA, are you referring to separately managed account? I'm strongly inclined to NOT offer that as an option.... I want to keep my specific trading activity closer to the vest.

Hopefully by having a credible audit + admin firm, that wouldn't be an issue.

4. JCBLESS

JCBLESS

Great Insight,

5. heech

heech

Anyone with any insight on the rates these larger administrators cost?