Margin differences

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by StarDust9182, Jun 9, 2011.

1. I am an equities trader taking a course in futures. I asked a question that the PFGBest instructor couldn't answer and also the best real trader I know (a San Diego well-known trader) and he didn't know either. I was hoping some one here might know an answer.

What is the reason that initial margin and maintenance margin are different?

By my reasoning, margin requirements are protecting the exchange and secondly the broker against the retail trader. It is a limit on leverage which is a deadly game in the wrong hands with potential of systematic risk. So if margin (= protection) is needed then why have two different levels?

Thanks in advance for your input.

2. Thanks for the reply. I did search google for the answer before posting but didn't find anything useful.

Your suggested URL says something like: the difference allows the position to move against the trader without having to put up more money.

I find that very unsatisfying and essentially a circular argument - it is different because it is different. If a trader enters a position so close to margin that a small move results in an immediate margin call, then he should be taken out immediately. (Better yet he should just close his account and mail a cheque to the senior traders for their share!) If there was only IM then everything would work the same as it does currently with seemingly less paperwork. Wouldn't it?

Another interesting article was at http://thismatter.com/money/stocks/margin.htm

It talks about two different levels set by the FED in "Reg T" and the ability for brokers or clearing houses to change them I think. That is all true but still unsatisfying. All these articles talk about the what and not the intent behind the what.