Map to SAC

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by NatTrader, Nov 5, 2005.

1. Hi everyone,

I am an another aspring trader who took an inspiration from "Market Wizzards" to jumped the corporate safety net. That book is a dangerous item to the uniniatied. "Take more risks when you young", doesn't Jim Crammer said that in his new book.

I quitted my day job as a successful software manager about a year and half ago. I moved to New York, because I didn't know the whereabouts of shops in the SF area, to learn to trade. Thinking trading and institution money management should more related than IT and finance, I hope that I could leverage soon-to-be-acquired trading skills into hedge fund management later.

Of course, I was naive. Trading is tough and the only transferable skill to investment is pschology control. Yet I was persistant. Looking over all my trades and reassess. Compare the trading records of the masters. Lost money about 9 months before seeing the light. I started to make some, here and there, and then 1000 once in a while, and control my losses to be small.

As a hedge for my move into trading, I applied to CBS and frinished the first year. My dream is to work in SAC or another similar trading hedge fund. I don't know anyone inside SAC, neither do I know anyone inside any of the other trading hedge funds. I will talk to CBS alumnis and fellow traders who work in my previous prop shops. I thought my options can be

1) Finish the CBS program and leverage my "superb" academic credential to get a job as similar to SAC as I can, in the most reputable firm that I can reach.
    The problem is most firms don't give a shit about day trading.

2) Finish the CBS and work as a market maker and then work for SAC.

3) Continue to improve my day trade and learn to invest for longer duration at the same time. I was thinking of apprenticing myself to any value/growth investor for free for 3-6 months. Produce a track record, finish CBS, and then apply to SAC.