Managing stress and low energy levels

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Aisone, Apr 29, 2009.

1. Aisone

Aisone

I'm in my 11th year and one of my biggest problems is being physically and mentally drained all the time. Good days, bad days, I get exhausted from the emotional rollercoasters and constant effort to focus and work hard. Even when I'm doing very well, it's always taken a toll.

This month I've done something I've never done before. I haven't looked at my account (equity) once. I figure I've had an ok month, which probably makes it a little easier, and the result has been MUCH more energy and ability to focus on and do things outside trading hours.

I honestly haven't felt this refreshed for a long, long time.

2. Stress ( See page 78 of 11APR09 Economist) it has been posted.

Here is the Bohr Effect in trader terms. The O 2 levels in the brain drop to 50% of capacity. CO 2 is WAY UP.

[​IMG]

And you need to considr balancing five things:
    Stress reduction
    diet
    exercise
    meditation
    and social support

3. elguapo

elguapo

gonna sound wierd, but here goes. when i was a kid, i thought about what it would be like on your death bed. thinking about dying, and what happens to you after, made me anxious. all that anxiety kinda turned into, "i gotta get up and doing something right now"

I've been stuck in a rut before, like coming home from trading, thinking about going to the gym but not doing it, maybe eating some doritos and calling it a night...or taking a nap.