Managing and efficiently implementing code

Discussion in 'App Development' started by phattails, Nov 10, 2011.

1. How do you guys organize code that you routinely use? As a non-native programmer, I'm slow creating/finding useable code so I rely mainly on existing code. I then have notes on the code, how to use it etc. and when i need to use it i have to look in my notes to remember everything. But, I feel there is a better method out there for quickly implementing code. For example I would like to have a selection process for data, data type, then methods to apply hypothesis testing/transformations/data building to choose from. Right now I'm investigating existing software and programming tools to see if I can find a balance between flexibility and user interface. I use R quite a bit, so im also checking out some of the gui's that are available.I have feelng Visual Studio or something similar could help, but I couldn't find a dumbed down answer.

2. thanks, I'll check it out.

3. Honest suggestion would be to take a programming course.

Nothing too serious, but enough to no longer have to rely on tools, or on other peoples code.

Once you can write your own code, you can do anything.

Just comes down to time, and motivation.

Build you own code base that you fully understand -- then you're unstoppable.

4. "How do you guys organize code that you routinely use?" and for that, programmers use "Snippet Managers". It's a common practice of course. No one can remember the thousands or millions of lines of codes that are routinely used.

Edit: I should clarify that snippet managers are designed for programmers to store *their own* source code.. not to cheat!

5. rosy2

rosy2

gist.github.com

6. Simple method that works for codebases of up to several MB (perhaps 100-200 code snippets max, even more if you are very disciplined):

Store all the code snippets in one single textfile.
    Put tags in front of the snippets that describe it.

When snippet needed: