Managing/Adjusting Positions

Discussion in 'Options' started by dreamliner, Jan 28, 2010.

1. Greetings,

I'm new to options, have been trading Iron Condors, spread trades, etc. for a few months now, and have a question:

Some people recommend managing the trades by adjusting them individually, others recommend managing "portfolio delta" to keep it as neutral as possible.

I've been managing about 12 trades per month just by adjusting delta (selling Vertical Calls if needing negative delta, selling Vertical Puts if needing positive delta) and have done well that way. But is this a viable long term method?

Any input you have on managing/adjusting trades would be helpful, or pointing me to a valuable resource, etc.

Thank you in advance.

2. spindr0

spindr0

When you make money doing that, it's viable. When you don't, it's not.

3. MTE

MTE

There is no right or wrong way in trading, if it works for you (and apparently it does) then keep doing this.

4. Premium

Premium

I'm not saying whether the strategy is right or wrong, but you are increasing your maximum risk every time you adjust that way. If you have an iron condor and the underlying goes up, you become more delta negative and so you sell more vertical put spreads. I would rather use the oppotunity to hedge or remove the put side (at a cheaper price) or do nothing, and possibly manage the call side. But that's just my preference.

5. Thank you. When you say you would rather "use the opportunity to hedge" can you explain what you would do then?

In other words you are in an iron condor and the underlying goes up and approaches the short call. How would you hedge?

Thank you again for responding.

6. NHS

NHS