Malting Barley Futures: Technical question on Marginsþ

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by OTC Nic, Feb 15, 2013.

1. OTC Nic

OTC Nic

Hello,

I'm a student and I'm trying to understand some features of futures contracts.

However, I just discovered the existence of "tick size", "Daily Price Limit", "Underlying Price Scan Range" and I'm a bit confused. Hence, I'm asking for some enlightenment from professionals. I'm writing my reasoning (which might be wrong), could you tell me if I'm right ? Note that I intentionally leave aside the transaction costs in order to ease the calculations.

If we check the "CharacteristcsMBF.png" doc, we see that 1 contract represents 50 Tons. The tick size is 12,5€ for the 50 Tons.
    http://imgur.com/m35Fhh9

http://imgur.com/DOqjqeg
    Now, if we check "MaltingBarleyFutures.png" doc. I want (for instance) to buy MAY 13 futures.
    I want 2 contracts. I'm happy because 20 contracts are available ! (in Ask Size) So I can buy my 2 contracts which value is under the Ask Column, so 241,00€.
    It means that I have to pay 2(contracts) * 241€(price) * 50 (because that price is for 1 Unit) = 24.100,00 € , right ?

I'm pretty sure that my reasoning above is just but can you please confirm? However, the below reasoning might be wrong.

For the margins:

The Settlement Price is used to assess the margins. it's value is 243,75€/unit. (*50€/contract)
    Do I use the "open" value to assess the difference ? Or is that settlement value for today used in valuating tomorrow's margin?

I mean, if today settlement value is 243,75 and tomorrow it's 243,95, then my accounts at the Clearing House will be increased (or decreased?) ? (I'm Buying)

And the variation will be equal to ? change of .20 so, 20 ticks. ==> 20* 12,5€(tick size) ? = 250,00€ ?

http://imgur.com/y8R6UUa
    If you now check the "MarginsMBF.png", we know that each contract needs an Initial Margin(IM) of 1.250,00€