Making the jump from technology to the business..

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by demoship, Jul 15, 2008.

1. Has anyone done this?

My current situation is I'm a front-office software developer at an investment bank (which means I develop trading tools for the traders).

Obviously, I'd like to move into a role like being a financial analyst, or a trader. I'm starting the CFA program as well (I figure that'll get me some leverage once I start passing those exams).

Now, I JUST started this job, so it'll be at least a year before I'll consider or be considered for a job role change, but obviously the earlier I start planning for it the better. (It'll probably be more like 2 years considering how crappy the financial sector is doing right now. At latest it's going to be 3 years. As soon as I have my charter in my hands, I'm either going to get a move within the company or I'll find a new job).

A bit about my background:
    - 1 yr experience in the industry (I'm 22)
    - BS in Comp sci & business

Now.. I'd be MOST interested in hearing from people who've ACTUALLY done it, and about their backgrounds and what they did to make the jump.

I'd PREFER to stay with my bank for the move. Finding a new job may mean starting over with an entry level salary.. which would really really suck, since I can't even pay the bills with my current salary.

2. To me its a pretty simple question, just like anything else dealing with groups of people who you know is vastly more important than what. The larger the group of people is, the more important this becomes.

3. You are going in the wrong direction. I-Bank traders should consider going into I-bank IT positions.

Traders and analysts are disappearing. Algorithmic trading is replacing people, and this will continue. In addition, there will be a lot of offshoring of some who remain. Trading can be done anywhere, anytime.