Major problem with esignal

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by bundlemaker, Sep 10, 2003.

1. I did a quick search and did not find anything on this. Maybe I'm blind, because this is IMHO a major flaw in esignal.

At least on the emini's (that's pretty much all I trade) the current days volume on a daily chart is totally wrong.

I'm ashamed to admit I never noticed this before. I called esignal (on my own dime of course:( and spoke with someone who just hung up in the middle of me speaking. And no, I wasn't rude.

Apparantly esignal knows about this, and they don't mention it; yet they're happy to take my money every month. I was told they are aware of it.

If so, why not fix it. I'm no programmer, but at least temporarily, how hard could it be to suppress the bar in question? They don't give volume for ES #F=2 either, yet intraday bars show volume. Why in the world wouldn't you just add up the intraday bars and make that you're daily total? And if you change intervals on a given chart, the time template changes.

Esignal, why are you so damned excited about all kinds of bells and whistles and new versions when you can't even get daily volume straight?

2. Bsulli

Bsulli

I did a live rep chat and the tech said he saw it too and would report. Next day same issue as far as I was concern. Did another live rep chat and they gave me this link and blamed it on Globex

http://www.esignalcentral.com/support/faq/esignal/futures/futures_volume.asp

It ain't that hard to add the volume as it accumlates but for whatever reason esignal doesn't see it as an issue.

go figure.

Bsulli

3. The daily volume on the ES Mini is from the previous day. Thats why it is wrong.
    You can pull up an intraday chart and set the interval length to 415 (min), then you´ll get the daily realtime volume (you have to set the time template to regular trading hours).

Kev

4. Thx, and yes I realize that.