magic journal of doom

Discussion in 'Journals' started by magicz, Nov 1, 2005.

1. magicz

magicz

Well hopefully it won't be doom. I have been lurking around for a long time but never bother to register or post but it seems like it is the right time to do a journal to see if I can change my trading style to a new system that I've been working on for a few months.

The system itself isn't new but it is new to me. Basically, it will be a trend following system with my own special sauce so to speak. The purpose of this journal is to see if I can adhere to the system rules that I have developed or would I stray from its paths at entry points, exit points, and stop-loss points. The system is market neutral-bullish.

My backtests and paper trades so far have produce positive result in respect to the mechanical rules of the system. I would expect positive result if I follow the rules. My time line for this experiment is 1 year, starting around mid-November.

I will generalize the stock picking and system rules so that you have an idea what I am doing below.

Stock screen:
    1. Stock with certain growth percentage.
    2. Stock with certain price % from 52high.
    3. Stock with certain market cap.
    4. Stock with certain price range.
    5. Stock with certain volume limit.
    6. Stock Trend

System rules:
    1. Entry points: SMA + ADX
    2. Exit points: SMA + ADX
    3. Stop-loss: % Drawdown + SMA+ADX(this will take a lot of discipline: it is prone to my personal opinion which is counter productive to my system).

2. magicz

magicz

I will fund my IB margin account with 20K. I will post all my position at end of day. I will do a weekly progress report. According to IB my fund will be available in 5 days.

3. magicz

magicz

Since I haven't receive my ETF in my account yet. There isn't much to do but watch the market go by.